Am I wrong for liking Finals Week?

PHOT0075.JPG– David Mein

I know there are a lot of you out there who are still in school and who have just gone through, are going through, or are about to go through that week-long period of final exams and essay due-dates known as “finals week.” In addition to this, you’ve also been hearing, are hearing, or will be hearing a lot of complaining about how stressed out and tired everybody is. I, personally, handed in my last essay just last night and had my last class of the semester. Then I went to sleep for 14 hours.

Finals week for me, though, was actually about a week and a half. Fortunately for me, I like reading, I like writing, and I like being alone (Introvert Power!). All it took was some books, a word processor, some junk food, some (read: a lot of) wine, and an excuse not to see or talk to anyone to turn what should have been a stressful week and a half into a week-and-a-half long booze-fuelled orgy of composing terminological fiches and writing essays about dead translators.

None of this is to say that I didn’t feel any stress during finals week. As much as I enjoyed being holed up in my fortress of solitude, studying for exams, I did have to emerge every once in a while to actually write them. And, as due dates for my essays approached, I naturally had to get a bit more serious. I also didn’t spend the entire week and a half alone. If you’ve been paying any attention at all to this blog or the many others about introversion, you’ll understand that we do enjoy human contact every once in a while.

But, that’s all over now. I’ll try to not sound too happy; I know there are a lot of you who still haven’t even started finals. Keep in mind, that when it comes to getting down and studying or writing essays, this is one area where introverts are definitely at an advantage. If you haven’t done it before, I recommend turning it into a party (or orgy) like I did.

One thought on “Am I wrong for liking Finals Week?

Leave a Reply

