Finally got around to reading “Quiet” by Susan Cain

-David Mein

I’ve just now gotten around to reading “Quiet” by Susan Cain. I haven’t finished it yet, but so far, it seems to lay out perfectly what introversion is, the strengths of introverts, and how our culture has become increasingly extroverted, among other things. I’ll probably have a lot to comment on later, but for now, I just wanted to share a quote from the book. I can’t tell you the significance of the quote, all I can say is that it jumped out at me when I read it. The quote is:

“We actually have schools for ‘self-expression’ and ‘self-development,’ although we seem to mean the expression and development of the personality of a successful real estate agent.”

In the book, this quote was attributed to just “one intellectual in 1921.” Googling brought up the name Harold Stearns, but that was just another blogger quoting Susan Cain.

So, in the end, I can’t tell you anything about this quote. I can’t tell you who said this, what it means, or why it seemed meaningful to me. I just thought I would share it.

One thought on “Finally got around to reading “Quiet” by Susan Cain

Leave a Reply

