More than Just a Label

The graphic below was making the rounds, recently; co-incidentally, around the same time that I was moving into a new place with a roommate. It was particularly relevant for me because a severely reduced income made it necessary for the first time in three years for me to move into a place with a roommate. Luckily, I was moving in with someone who I had been friends with for almost two years, so it was someone who already understood me and my introversion pretty well (particularly since he’s an avid reader of this blog – Hi Vincent!)

It was my then-future roommate who first showed me the graphic, wanting to address some of the points it brings up (especially the part about hugging – he’s a hugger). It was a nice gesture, but ultimately unnecessary because of how long we had known each other.

When we talk about introverts and extroverts, we have to remember that you can’t reduce an individual to one characteristic. I’m an introvert because I’m usually quiet and usually like to stay home. But there’s so much more to me.

Graphics like these are fine for dealing with introverts in general, like when you meet someone new, but never forget that they are a complete person.

 

how_to_live_with_introverts_guide_printable_by_sveidt-d5b09fj

1 thought on “More than Just a Label

  1. dreamerrambling

    Love the graphics. I also really like the point you made. I think I may have tendency to sometimes over-generalize when it comes to introverts and extroverts. I mean, there are ambiverts as well! They seem to have the best of both worlds. Great post and great blog.

    Reply

Leave a comment